↑ Return to About Kenya

Print this Page

Facts Sheet

Location Kenya is bordered to the north by Sudan and Ethiopia, to the east by Somalia, to the west by Uganda, to the south by Tanzania, and to the southeast by the Indian Ocean. Much of the country, especially in the north and east, is arid or semi-arid. From the Indian Ocean the land rises gradually through dry bush to the fine arable land of the highlands.
Area Total 580,367 km² = 224,080 sq mi
Water (%) 2.3
Administrative divisions Kenya is divided into 8 administrative provinces: Central, Coast, Eastern, Nairobi, North Eastern, Nyanza, Rift Valley and WesternFurther divisions are as follows: Provinces à districts à Divisions à Locations à Sub-locations
Population 39 million est.
Density 59/km² (In the semi arid north and northeast regions, population density hardly reaches 2 per sq km, whereas in the rich and fertile western, population density rises to 120 persons per sq km. In the well endowed Rift Valley, population density varies from one area to another with an average of 13 inhabitants per sq km. Nearly 25% of the total is concentrated in the large cities of Nairobi, Mombasa and Kisumu including large towns such as Nakuru.
Capital Nairobi
Demonym Kenyan
His Excellency Hon. Uhuru Kenyatta C.G.H
Independence Date From the United KingdomDecember 12, 1963
Currency Kenyan shilling (KES)
Time zone EAT (UTC+3)
Driving Left Hand Traffic
Internet TLD .ke
Calling Code +254

For french version


Permanent link to this article: https://kenyaembassyparis.org/about-kenya/facts-sheet